I may receive commissions from purchases made through links in this article. Full Disclosure

Enneagram type 6s are loyal, witty, committed, prepared, responsible, trouble-shooters, and supportive when at their best and living in healthy levels. Sometimes called the skeptic or guardian but I prefer to call them Enneagram Type 6: The Loyalist!

How Do You Know If You Are a Type 6?

As is true of all enneagram types, your type is determined by core motivation. Yes, there are traits that are more common to type 6s but traits are not what determines your type. (You could be a 6 who actually rushes into fear!)

So if you are trying to figure out if you are a type 6, you’ll want to look into the core motivations to see which one resonates with you.

all about enneagram type 6

Enneagram 6: The Loyalist

*Special note about 6s: 6s can handle their fear in a phobic way (giving into fear) or a counter-phobic way (confronting fear or denying it) Even though these two versions of 6 present very differently, they are still both 6s as they have the same core motivation.
Enneagram Type 6

Core Motivation of Type 6

Core Desire: to be secure/supported
Core Fear: being without support/not being secure
Wounding Message: “It’s not ok to trust yourself.”
Core Longing (what they wish they believed to be true): “You are safe and secure.”
Core Weakness: Fear (better known as anxiety to 6s)

Positive Traits of Type 6

Loyal, witty, committed, prepared, responsible, trouble-shooters, supportive.

Negative Traits of Type 6

Paranoid, self-doubting, anxious, rigid, pessimistic, unpredictable, hyper-vigilant.

Type 6 Wing Options

Type 6s have wing options of 5 and 7.
Keep in mind that while most people have one dominant wing (hence 6w5), but some people find they have balanced wings, and some find that they do not make use of their wings.

Type 6 Stress Number

In stress, 6s take on the negative traits of type 3 (afraid of failure, keeping busy to distract themselves, competitive).
Check out Enneagram Types Under Stress for more info.

Type 6 Growth Number

When 6s are growing they take on the positive traits of type 9 (more relaxed, more clam, and less anxious).

Triadic Groups of Type 6

Enneagram Centers of Intelligence - Head Center
Center of Intelligence: Head/Thinking Center
This means 6s take in and process the world through their thinking.
Check out my Centers of Intelligence post for more info on the Gut Center.

enneagram compliant group
Hornevian Group (also called “Stances”): The Compliant/Dutiful Group
The compliant/dutiful group means that 6s move towards people to know what is needed/expected of them in hopes of earning what they desire (security).
Check out Enneagram Hornevian Groups for more info.

reactive group for enneagram harmonic groups

Harmonic Group: The Reactive Group
Harmonic groups explains how the types deal with conflict and 6s are in the reactive group meaning they react to conflict with strong emotions and assume others should as well.
For more info, check out my post on Harmonic Groups.

Harmony Group: The Pragmatist Group
Harmony groups explain how your type relates to the world. Type 6s are in the pragmatist group because they seek a secure place (and they attach to what makes that work for them pragmatically).
My post on Harmony Groups has more details.

Levels of Health for Type 6

Depending on their level of health, a type 6 can look a bit different from another type 6. The three main levels of health are Healthy, Average, and Unhealthy.

6s when healthy: become trusting of themselves and others. They are affectionate and form lasting relationships. They are dedicated to others and activities that they believe in. Often becoming builders of communities since they are responsible, team players, and trustworthy.

6s when average: more concerned with being prepared at all times and putting their energy in staying safe and secure. Can become indecisive, cautious, and procrastinate. May become highly reactive and defensive especially when any sort of conflict is involved

6s when unhealthy: can become highly anxious and panic stricken. May seek out a strong authority or belief since they feel defenseless.  They can become paranoid believing that others are trying to fool them or harm them.

These are just the three main levels of health. There are actually a total of nine levels of health; three levels in each of these main levels.

If you want the full break down with all the details for the levels of health, I highly recommend picking up Riso and Hudson’s book: Personality Types.

Enneagram Type 6: The Loyalist