I may receive commissions from purchases made through links in this article. Full Disclosure

Enneagram type 7s are adventurous, imaginative, enthusiastic, spontaneous, and positive when at their best and living in healthy levels. Sometimes called the optimist but I prefer to call them Enneagram Type 7: The Enthusiast!

How Do You Know If You Are a Type 7?

As is true of all enneagram types, your type is determined by core motivation. Yes, there are traits that are more common to type 7s but traits are not what determines your type. (You could be an introverted 7!)

So if you are trying to figure out if you are a type 7, you’ll want to look into the core motivations to see which one resonates with you.

All about enneagram type 7

Enneagram 7: The Enthusiast

Enneagram Type 7

Core Motivation of Type 7

Core Desire: to be satisfied/content
Core Fear: being deprived/being trapped in emotional pain
Wounding Message: “It’s not ok to depend on others for anything.”
Core Longing (what they wish they believed to be true): “You will be taken care of.”
Core Weakness: Gluttony (better known as “filling yourself up with experiences/stimulation” to 7s)

Positive Traits of Type 7

Positive, adventurous, imaginative, enthusiastic, quick thinking, spontaneous, confident.

Negative Traits of Type 7

Unfocused, self-absorbed, superficial, restless, impulsive, rebellious, escapist.

Type 7 Wing Options

Type 7s have wing options of 6 and 8.
Keep in mind that while most people have one dominant wing (hence 7w8), but some people find they have balanced wings, and some find that they do not make use of their wings.

Type 7 Stress Number

In stress, 7s take on the negative traits of type 1 (rigid, critical, pessimistic, angry when things don’t go the way they want).
Check out Enneagram Types Under Stress for more info.

Type 7 Growth Number

When 7s are growing they take on the positive traits of type 5 (more focused, more restrained, more okay with painful things).

Triadic Groups of Type 7

Enneagram Centers of Intelligence - Head Center
Center of Intelligence: Head/Thinking Center
This means 7s take in and process the world through their thinking.
Check out my Centers of Intelligence post for more info on the Gut Center.

enneagram assertive group

Hornevian Group (also called “Stances”): The Assertive Group
The assertive group means that 7s move against people in hopes of earning what they desire (security).
Check out Enneagram Hornevian Groups for more info.

positive outlook group for enneagram harmonic groups

Harmonic Group: The Positive Outlook Group
Harmonic groups explain how the types deal with conflict and 7s are in the positive outlook group meaning they put emphasis on the positive experiences and environment during conflict.
For more info, check out my post on Harmonic Groups.

Harmony Group: The Idealist Group
Harmony groups explain how your type relates to the world. Type 7s are in the idealist group because they have an idea of how the world should be (and they get frustrated when it’s not that way).
My post on Harmony Groups has more details.

Levels of Health for Type 7

Depending on their level of health, a type 7 can look a bit different from another type 7. The three main levels of health are Healthy, Average, and Unhealthy.

7s when healthy: are joyous and enthusiastic about experiences and life. They are lively, cheerful, multi-talented. They become more practical and productive as they’ve developed their ability to focus. They develop a healthier work/play balance.

7s when average: are more focused on always looking to the future and the next exciting thing. They are more restless and desire more choices and options. They are fun to be around and always up for spontaneous activities. Can be prone to reframing events or situations so that they don’t have to deal or focus on any pain.

7s when unhealthy: more cynical and critical of things around them. Annoyed at anything that holds them back from obtaining their satisfaction. More impulsive and escapist. May become narcissistic in their actions since they are concerned with only their happiness.

These are just the three main levels of health. There are actually a total of nine levels of health; three levels in each of these main levels.

If you want the full break down with all the details for the levels of health, I highly recommend picking up Riso and Hudson’s book: Personality Types.

Enneagram Type 7: The Enthusiast